MACY’S 40% off KITCHENAID MIXERS

Standard

I have dreams about owning a KitchenAid Mixer. It’s kind of one of those investments that screams “I’ve made it, I finally own the Mercedes of stand mixers”. Each of my grandmothers owned one of these beautifully sleek appliances, and they taught my cousins and I how to use them at a very young age. The easy of use in these gorgeous mixers and the beauty at which they mixed the dough for our Christmas cookies was enough to know that I wanted one.

Last year was my first Christmas with the family in my new home. I cooked and baked for two days straight in preparation for this meal. I had sore arms and legs from running around and of course – mixing up different foods by hand. I figured if I only had one of those majestic mixers these Christmas meals would be so much easier. My boyfriend disagreed. He can’t figure out why someone would spend such a large chunk of money on a close cousin to the toaster (yes, that’s what he said).

So here I sit, without a KitchenAid mixer, and without hope for one, when all of a sudden Macy’s advertises 40% KitchenAid mixers on the TV! My boyfriend glances in my direction, hoping that I wasn’t paying attention. But, I was.

All I could think was “40% off, what a steal!”

The thing is that I am a skeptic. Why would Macy’s be cutting the price of the mixers nearly in half, when other places are only giving out a 20% off coupon on Black Friday?

Macy’s has their KitchenAid KSM140PS Artisan 5 Qt. Stand Mixer on sale from 499.99 to 349.99. The color that shows up instantly on their webpage when you click on the link is the Cobalt Blue one, so I decided to compare apples to apples and do a little research.

Amazon is selling the EXACT SAME MIXER in the EXACT SAME COLOR with TWO DAY PRIME SHIPPING for….

$275.00!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That’s $225 less than Macy’s original price and $75 less than their sale price.

FOR THE EXACT SAME MIXER IN THE EXACT SAME COLOR.

Here’s lesson number one in shopping: When you are looking to purchase something that you consider to be an investment, make sure you invest the time in making sure that you are getting the bottom dollar, instead of paying some corporation hundreds more for the exact same product.

Macy’s is a ripoff anyways and as many times as I have been into that store I have never walked out with anything, simply because their prices are outrageous.

Either way, it will be quite some time before I invest almost $300 in an appliance I am not sure how much I will use

Are you eyeballing something for yourself or a gift for a loved one for the holidays, but don’t want to pay the ticket price? Let me know what it is, and I’ll let you know how cheap I can find it!

Leave a comment on this blog.

-or-

Tweet me @psychoserver

-or-

Email me onepsychoserver@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

