A SERVER’S WOES

Standard

There are a lot of reasons a person might become a server. Maybe they are a college student trying to make extra cash for rent or beer. Maybe they are a single mother trying her best to provide for her family. Or maybe they are someone looking to pick up a little extra money for the holidays. No matter the reason, these people are waiting on customers hand and foot, often without thanks, for what little they do get to go home with.

It isn’t very often that a server is able to work full-time hours, and even more rare that they receive benefits, such as health insurance and a 401k. They often have to work late at night or early in the morning, and their shifts are often opposite those of their significant others or their children’s activities. Servers don’t often get weekends off, and there is a chance they still have to work holidays.

I went back to food service to supplement income from a full-time job. I had it made before that. A decent paycheck, affordable benefits and weekends free. The problem was, I loved to shop. I mean…I REALLY love to shop. And I’m good at it. I never pay full price for anything, and in my opinion, I never pay more for something than it’s worth. The tips I would make got put away in a secret place, while the actual paychecks were spent on whatever I wanted. What’s the problem? I work hard, and I want to spend my extra income as I see fit.

The problem was that after two years at the company I was working for, they decided to downsize after some unforeseen (yeah right) financial trouble. They saw me as an easy target, because I am going to be a college graduate in a few short weeks. They found it easiest to let me go and fend for myself after roping me into the job in the first place. Never mind the boss’ wife driving a car that cost almost twice as much as my house, or the accountant that was spending company money as she saw fit, I was the one that had to be let go.

See, what people don’t understand is that it is much more difficult to find a job with a college degree than one would think. So, here I am, surviving on a server’s income.

The general point of this blog is not only to rant about a server’s problems, but to look for ways to stretch a buck and unwind.

I will try to do the work FOR you. Yup, that’s right. I will try things out and give you my honest opinions on whether or not I would spend my hard earned tip money or not.

You can expect to hear about product reviews, an average night, various ways I save money and maybe I’ll even get a little crafty (Lord help us). Here’s to new adventures!

Things that are coming up on this blog:

Jubees – October review

Birchbox – November review

Ipsy – November review

Darby Smart – November review

How I Made a New Car Happen For Me

Christmas DIY – Let’s Talk About It!

What are you interested in hearing about the most? Leave a comment and I will be sure to respond to you!

Leave a Reply

